Prix Louis-Comtois

Last updated August 18, 2022

The Prix Louis-Comtois celebrates contemporary art. Its aim is to reward and promote the work of a Montréal artist with more than 10 years of professional experience.


Internationally renowned Canadian painter Louis Comtois (1945-1990) was best known for his abstract work. His work was featured in exhibitions held in Canada, France and the United States between 1968 and 1990.

The Prix Louis Comtois was created in 1991 by the Contemporary Art Galleries Association (AGAC). The award is jointly managed with the city, and its aim is to support and promote the work and quality of an artist who has distinguished himself or herself on Montréal’s contemporary art scene in the previous 15 years.

About the award

The award includes:

  • A $7,500 cash prize for the winner.
  • A budget of $2,500 to promote and stage a solo exhibition at an AGAC member gallery or other exhibition venue in Montréal. The exhibition must be held within 36 months of the presentation of the award to the winner.
  • The acquisition, by the city, of one of the winner’s works, for the municipal collection.


To be eligible, mid-career professional artists must:

  • Have more than 10 years of professional experience.
  • Work in the contemporary art field.
  • Have participated in one exhibition at a Montréal-based gallery or artist-run centre since October 2018.
  • Live in or occupy a creative space located within Montréal city limits.


Submission file

All submissions must include:

  • The completed submission form.
  • Up to 20 images (maximum of 1 MB per image, JPEG format).
  • An artistic statement (maximum 500 words).
  • The artist’s curriculum vitae (maximum three pages).
  • Optional: Up to two video works, each no more than five minutes long, in Quicktime format. If the video exceeds five minutes in length, it will automatically be deleted  and will not be presented to the jury

Submissions must be filed in PDF format.

Submission deadline

Submissions must be filed online. Applicants can access the form, view the contest regulations, and file their submissions online.

Submissions must be filed by no later than September 21, 2022 at midnight.


Applications will be reviewed by a five-member jury representing the visual arts community. Jury members will be selected for their expertise in connection with various contemporary art disciplines and related artistic trends.

The submission must be filed by the artist or the gallery representing them. When a gallery files a submission, an acknowledgement of receipt will be sent to the gallery and the artist.

Presentation of the award

This award is presented in the fall.

2021 edition

Learn more about the winner and the finalists for the last edition.

Previous winners

  • Nadia Myre
  • Chih-Chien Wang

  • Milutin Gubash
  • Cynthia Girard-Renard

  • Sophie Jodoin
  • Aude Moreau
  • Nicolas Baier
  • Patrick Bernatchez
  • Manon Labrecque
  • Jean-Pierre Gauthier
  • Marie-Claude Bouthillier
  • Valérie Blass
  • Daniel Olson

In partnership

  • Association des galeries d’art contemporain (AGAC)

Quick search