Prix Pierre-Ayot

Last updated August 18, 2022

The Prix Pierre-Ayot is intended for young visual artists. It highlights their artistic process and allows them to exhibit their works at a Montréal gallery.


Pierre Ayot (1943-1995) was a multidisciplinary visual artist who worked in photography, screen printing, sculpture, installation art and video. In 1966 he founded GRAFF, a Montréal-based centre for research on, and the production and the dissemination of, contemporary art. He also worked as a professor at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM).

The city created the Prix Pierre-Ayot in 1996, in partnership with the Contemporary Art Galleries Association (AGAC). This award promotes the excellence of new visual art creation in Montréal, supports the representation of young artists in the city’s galleries and artist-run centres, and recognizes the efforts of exhibitors who encourage early-career artists.

About the award

The award includes:

  • A $5,000 cash prize for the winner.
  • A budget of $2,500 to promote and stage a solo exhibition at an AGAC member gallery or other exhibition venue in Montréal. The exhibition must be held within 36 months of the presentation of the award to the winner.
  • The acquisition, by the city, of one of the winner’s works, for the municipal collection.


To be eligible, artists must be under 35 years of age on September 21, 2022 and must:

  • Have no more than 10 years of professional experience.
  • Have participated in one exhibition at a Montréal-based gallery or artist-run centre since October 2018.
  • Live in or occupy a creative space located within Montréal city limits.


Submission file

The submission must be filed by the artist, the artist-run centre or the gallery representing the artist. In all cases, the artist and the organization must sign the submission form. When a gallery files a submission, an acknowledgement of receipt will be sent to the gallery and the artist.

All submissions must include:

  • The completed submission form.
  • Up to 15 images (maximum 1 MB per image, JPEG format).
  • An artistic statement (maximum 500 words).
  • The artist’s curriculum vitae (maximum three pages).
  • Optional: Up to two video works, each no more than five minutes long, in Quicktime format. If the video exceeds five minutes in length, it will automatically be deleted  and will not be presented to the jury.

All submissions must be in PDF format.

Submission deadline

Submissions must be filed online. Applicants can access the form, view the contest regulations, and file their submissions online.

Submissions must be filed by no later than September 21, 2022 at midnight.


A five-member jury, representing the visual arts community, will be tasked with reviewing the submissions received. Jury members will be selected for their expertise.

Presentation of the award

This award is presented in the fall.

2021 edition

Discover the winner and the finalists from last year’s edition.

Previous winners

  • Myriam Dion
  • Caroline Monnet
  • Nadège Grebmeier Forget
  • Adam Basanta
  • Celia Perrin Sidarous
  • Nicolas Grenier
  • Jon Rafman
  • Julie Favreau
  • Kim Waldron
  • Jacynthe Carrier
  • Olivia Boudreau
  • Alana Riley
  • Gwenaël Bélanger

Quick search