Prix Pierre-Ayot and Prix Louis-Comtois: 2022 edition

Last updated December 2, 2022
Reading time: 2 min

The Prix Pierre-Ayot and Prix Louis-Comtois recognize excellence in visual arts.  The city presents these awards in conjunction with the Contemporary Art Galleries Association (AGAC).

Prix Pierre-Ayot

This award, in the form of a $5,000 grant, is presented to a Montréal visual artist with less than 10 years of professional artistic experience.

The winner

Michelle Bui

Portrait de Michelle Bui. Crédit : Jill Schweber

Michelle Bui’s photographs reflect the processes of accumulation, presentation, and eventual decay that mark our relationships to objects. Her sensual works highlight the link between our identity and consumerism. At a time when our visual interactions are consumed quickly on hand-scale screens, the artist is interested in the idea of sensory overload of images that simultaneously reflect our desire for accumulation, which can never be satisfied.

Photo credit: Jill Schweber

The finalists

The jury selected:

Trevor Baird

 Portrait de Trevor Baird. Crédit : Rebecca Storm

Trevor Baird sculpts vases as a form of economic and political critique. His work expresses the notions of class and cultural capital. It moves away from materialism to focus on the spirit. His clay creations feature sketches, images from comic strips and patterns, coupling traditional imagery with contemporary icons.

Photo credit: Rebecca Storm

Lucie Rocher

Portrait de Lucie Rocher. Crédit : Document original

Between the finished and the unfinished,  Lucie Rocher’s photographic installations explore games of tension and formal balance. The aesthetics of the image, the choice of materials that support it and the hanging device that brings them together are constantly dependent on each other. The artist tries to define an aesthetic, philosophical and ecological system in her practice.

Photo credit: Document original

The city presents the Prix Pierre-Ayot in conjunction with the Contemporary Art Galleries Association (AGAC).

Prix Louis-Comtois

This award, in the form of a $7,500 grant, recognizes an artist who has made his or her mark on Montréal’s contemporary arts scene over the past 15 years.

The winner

karen elaine spencer

karen elaine spencer
karen elaine spencer’s approach combines her subjective world and the myriad conditions and experiences she encounters as a body navigating through space. This is the starting point of a performative method. The artist navigates the gap between the world she encounters and the one she tries to build.

The finalists

The jury selected:

Mathieu Beauséjour

Portrait de Mathieu Beauséjour. Crédit : Thomas Kern

Mathieu Beauséjour overthrows concepts of power, alienation, and oppression. Employing diverse techniques, his work gives both an ironic and a nostalgic feel within the political and artistic avant-garde, and evokes cultural emblems such as money, hymns and manifestos. 
Photo credit: Thomas Kern

Nelson Henricks

Portrait de Nelson Henricks
Nelson Henricks’ artistic universe includes photography, painting, drawing and video installations. Both poetic and ironic, Henricks’s work is experimental, but also grounded in popular culture. His new works express a quest to transfer materiality as a means of challenging conventions in aesthetics and representation.

The city presents the Prix Louis-Comtois in conjunction with the Contemporary Art Galleries Association (AGAC).