Prix Paul-Buissonneau

Last updated January 25, 2023

Do you belong to an amateur theatre troupe or organization, or are you involved in theatre? The Prix Paul-Buissonneau recognizes your commitment, dedication and creativity.


Paul Buissonneau (1926-2014) was a Québec actor and filmmaker. In collaboration with Claude Robillard, director of the Service des Parcs, the French-born Buissonneau founded La Roulotte, a colourful theatre caravan, in 1953. La Roulotte is still active to this day. Drawing inspiration from the commedia dell’arte, Buissonneau created a true travelling theatre that tours the city, stopping to perform in various parks.

This award pays tribute to a man who worked tirelessly to make theatre accessible to Montrealers and to kids and adults alike. Paul Buissonneau exerted a considerable influence on the Montréal arts scene. Thanks to him and to La Roulotte, several generations of Montrealers acquired a taste for theatre at a young age, and that tradition continues more than 40 years later. In particular, Paul Buissonneau supported scores of young actors who went on to become famous, including Yvon Deschamps, Marcel Sabourin, Robert Charlebois, Claude Jasmin, Clémence Desrochers, and Gabriel Arcand.

Today, the Prix Paul-Buissonneau recognizes the remarkable contribution of an individual,  amateur troupe or organization that promotes the development of amateur theatre in Montréal.

About the award

Each year, the winner receives an honorary certificate along with a $1,000 cash prize. The Prix Paul-Buissonneau is offered by the city.


Only amateur theatre initiatives presented in a recreational setting within Montréal city limits are eligible. An individual applicant must be a resident of Montréal.



Method of evaluation

The jury is composed of three members:

  • A representative of the Fédération québécoise du théâtre amateur
  • A representative of the Montréal theatre community
  • A representative of the city’s Service de la culture

The jury will review the submissions based on the following criteria:

  • History and consistency of actions in a recreational or amateur setting
  • Applicant’s achievements and innovative character
  • Effects of applicant’s actions on the development and scope of amateur theatre practices
  • Quality of the action, professional support to amateur actors, and community involvement

Previous winners

  • Porte-Voix
  • Troupe La Ruée vers l’Art
  • Théâtre du Mitan
  • Nancy Issa Torosian
  • Françoise Tremblay
  • Les Entr’Parleurs
  • RousScène - Troupe de théâtre
  • Pierre Vaillant
  • Ana Gloria Blanch (mention d’honneur)
  • La Troupe Tamalou
  • L’Opéra de Montréal
  • La Gang à Rambrou

In partnership

Quick search