City council

City council is Montréal’s primary decision-making body. It adopts municipal budgets, by-laws, programs, subsidies and governmental agreements. Learn all about it here.

City council is composed of 65 elected officials:

  • the mayor of the city, who is also mayor of Ville-Marie
  • 18 borough mayors
  • 46 city councillors

City council meets on the third or fourth Monday of every month. Special council meetings are also held on an occasional basis. These sessions are presided over by the council chair. Residents who wish to participate in the meetings may submit a question to elected officials or view live retransmissions at city hall.

The agenda is made available on the Friday preceding the meeting. Archived meeting agendas, minutes and official documents may be viewed online (in French).

Visit our YouTube account to watch archived videos of city council(in French). If you would like to consult a video archive broadcast before 2019, please send an e-mail to [email protected].

2022 session archives (in French)

2021 session archives (in French)

2020 session archives (in French)

2019 session archives (in French)